Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

yes

Re: March 2019 device limit policy

Level 6

Wowowowow! As a tech/photo teacher, I have recommended DB to HUNDREDS! of people and this is really bad news!!!

I have read a number of replies here and have not seen anybody mention that the challenge of three device limit does not even take into account that you might need authorizing multiple “devices” on one single device.

I just found out about this today as I attempted to send myself via Dropbox and VR7 an audio file on a device that was already authorized for the main DB App. But the VR7 application needed an authorization also. Just looked over the email and finding this to my shock. I have 20 connected devices and approximately 25gb GB of space used in 35gb allowed.  I utilize dropbox extensively every single day. I have no idea what an alternative would be.  

I pay for unlimited storage at Dreamhost for web hosting as well as unlimited photo storage at Smugmug...I just don’t know how to turn that into not needing Dropbox and how convenient it is to install and rock on with instant syncing with tons of files.

Highlighted

Level 2

I just want to add my voice to the chorus.

Like many others, I do need to link more than three devices, but I do not need 1TB of cloud storage, and I definitely don't want to be paying $120 pa for what has been an excellent but free service.

I have used Dropbox almost since it was established, and it's brilliant.  I'll happily pay for continuing excellence, and to say 'thank you' for what I've enjoyed using in the past, but not an outrageous $120 pa.  Reduce it to, say, $15-20pa for unlimited devices with about 100GB of storage (which is fairly similar to Google Drive's fees) and I'd be signing up.

Level 2

Adding my voice to the community.