cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

yes

Highlighted

What happens when you unlink a device?

Level 6

I have unlinked a remote PC of an employee who left the company.  Does this effectively block the former employee from acces to the dropbox files?  I also change my password.  Thank you

4 Replies

Re: What happens when you unlink a device?

Super User

Hi @JimDrumm, Once you have unlinked a computer, the dropbox app should be logged out on that computer https://www.dropbox.com/help/mobile/unlink-relink-computer-mobile, and the computer will stop syncing. However, the files already synced on that pc should remain on that computer unless you have remote wiped the files. 

Reply
Loading...

Re: What happens when you unlink a device?

Level 6

Thank you Elixer.  Can I still do the remote wipe even though I have already unlinked the remote device?

 

Reply
Loading...

Re: What happens when you unlink a device?

Super User

I am afraid, you can't use remote wipe on devices that are already unlinked. 

Reply
Loading...

Re: What happens when you unlink a device?

Level 6

Thank you

Reply
Loading...
Manage Account

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

What happens when you unlink a device?
642 Views
4 Replies
2 Likes
Solved! : See solution
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post