cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Highlighted

Why is the aspect ratio on my files is different now?

Up until a couple months ago, video that I uploaded to Dropbox would play back at the proper wide aspect ratio in all browsers.  Something has changed and now the aspect ratio is compressed in Chrome and in Opera but displays correctly in Safari and Firefox.  If you download the video, it also displays correctly.  I've been using the same process to share video for several years without any issues like this.  Wondering what changed.

Tags (2)
15 Replies

Re: aspect ratio

Dropboxer

Initially, please bear in mind that, in general, we don’t alter your files.

Having said that, could you try this out through a private browser, ensure that you’re not running any browser extensions, and also clear any previous settings that may apply? 

Let me know of any updates! upside-down face

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

I've already tried this at home and shared it with others with the same results.  Videos that used to be correct are now compressed, and as I pointed out, it's only compressed when viewing in Chrome and Opera, but looks correct in Safari and Firefox.

Dropboxer
Thanks for the swift reply, @soc7video57

Could you also clarify if you recently updated your Chrome and Opera browsers by any chance? nerd face

Lusil

White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.