cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Plans and Subscriptions

Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Banned links or temporarily disabled links

Banned links or temporarily disabled links

Nick T.6
New member | Level 1
Go to solution

I'm new to Dropbox. It's about 1 week.
I have uploaded soccer game videos to share with parents & players.
Yesterday, shortly after uploading the 3rd of 3 games.
My links all got banned. I managed to lift the ban.

Shortly after, my links got temporarily disabled again.
When will this temporary ban be lifted??
how can I prevent this from happening?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Lana P.1
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi ,

Shared links and file requests are automatically banned when they generate large amounts of traffic and exceed our bandwidth or download limits. In order to prevent abuse, Basic accounts are limited to 20 GB of bandwidth and 100,000 downloads per day, while Pro and Business accounts have a much higher limit of 200 GB per day and unlimited downloads.

Please note that Dropbox does not offer a way to buy an additional bandwidth allowance for your account.

Due to the way we track shared links and file requests, we cannot provide information about why a particular link or file request was banned.

However, if a recipient of a shared link sends it to other users who subsequently download it, this could account for high bandwidth usage. Similarly, if a single recipient downloads the shared link multiple times, each download is counted separately for bandwidth tracking purposes. This can also cause shared links to be banned.