Plans and Subscriptions
Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.
As can be seen on your screenshot you have exhausted your available space 2GB completely - unused space 0B. In all cases, if your intention is on Dropbox to be no more than 50MB content, then you have got in sync some content unintentionally. Take a look on your real online folder and see what's there. If I have to bet, you activated Dropbox Backup. In such a way, even unintentionally turned on, this "feature" (especially in quotes) can fill your space completely very fast. If this is the case, turn it back off. Follow direction in the help topic just referred (scroll down to "How to disable your backups" section). Select to "keep content in folders on this PC/Mac", when you get to there. 😉
Hope this helps.
... I'm deleting a backup now. ...
Take extreme care when you are going to delete something!!!
Take in mind that everything you will delete will be deleted on your machine too! Is this what you want?
... Is there a way to turn this "feature" off completely?
🤔 To be honest I'm not sure what exactly you are asking for here. That's exactly what I advised you to do, not to delete something. Take a look on my previous post and see what's not clear enough. The resource I linked to there explain it step by step.
First problem first. I disabled the only backup that I could see when I followed your instructions. Then I deleted that backup. The disk that was unintentianally backed up is not affected as far as I can tell. But, the backup is still in Dropbox, I think, since there seems to be an undelete option. I don't think that I have to worry about the original data on the disk that got backed up being deleted, right? And how can permanently delete the backup on Dropbox?
@WhyUs, I'm not sure what you have done, so can't give too much advises. Just, take care when you going to delete something. Deleted content is recoverable, but for limited time span!
... I disabled the only backup that I could see when I followed your instructions. Then I deleted that backup. ...
Once you disable particular folder backup in Dropbox, the same folder automatically disappear from Dropbox, if you have selected "keep content in folders on this PC/Mac", as I mentioned before. Once all folders got disabled in backup, backup has disabled completely and there should be no any lead of them in your account. In this context, I have no idea what you have "deleted" after have "disabled". The only thing, I can think off, is you have left the content not on your machine, but on Dropbox. If so - error, you have made your life little more difficult. Instead everything get done automatically, you need to manage content by hands. That's it... Continue. You gonna be aware for the next time. 😉 (why us 🧐 - why not 😁)
Hi Zdravko! Thanks for that help, and apologies for not getting back to you sooner. I'm helping out a friend here, and I've had to deal with some other stuff in the meantime. Re this problem, I thought I followed your suggestions, but maybe not. In any event, this is what I ended up with:
Now I want to permanently delete the accidental backup. Do you have any idea how I can do that?
As far as I can see, on your screenshot is a "Elements" entry you have deleted already. The same as for all deleted files/folders/etc. it got in your trash bin and will stay there for some time (depending on your subscription). You can delete earlier any deleted entry by selecting it and choose "Permanently delete". Doesn't it work for you? Even not permanently deleted, once deleted it doesn't engage space on your account. 😉
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!