cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Security and Permissions

Start a discussion in the Dropbox Community forum to get help with your account security and permissions. Find support from Community members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Recent Upgrade - Serious Security Issue

Recent Upgrade - Serious Security Issue

Toorumbee
Helpful | Level 6
Go to solution

SERIOUS SECURITY ISSUE

I have been managing Dropbox for a number of companies for 10 years or more.

The recent upgrade that was pushed out to a company I manage last Thursday 01 Sept 2022 has exposed a serious security bug in the Dropbox upgrade

After the upgrade whilst adding a Business DropBox account to a new profile on a new laptop, a folder with several subfolders unrelated to the account I was installing appeared during the sync process. The initial sync took several hours to complete but during that time the private folders from a different account in the same enterprise were visible and accessible, 117 GB of data not shared at all with the account was available without restriction. Selective sync did not list the folders as they were not shared with the account at all so could not be removed by unticking them in selective sync. When the sync process was complete the folders disappeared from the root folder but upon further examination there is now a folder in the local accounts private folder with the same folder name appended with (shared folder conflict) and it contains 53.9GB of data from the other unrelated account with access "Only You" indicating they are not copies synced back to the original folders. This account now contains data it should never have had access too and the other account holder would have no idea this had happened