cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Files from others shared with me uses MY space allocation -- WHY??

Files from others shared with me uses MY space allocation -- WHY??

BxD
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I am new to this, using the free version for now.  One thing I don't understand is why files that do not belong to me that are shared with me take up space on my space allocation.  They are not my files, so why do they take up space for me (and whoever else shared with)?  That seems like charging multiple times for the same file that is in 1 location (the user's area that they shared.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Lusil
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution
Hey @BxD and @Nosferath

Since every member of a shared folder can add and modify the files in it, the shared folder takes up space in each member's account. This policy exists to prevent people from giving themselves unlimited space by stacking Basic accounts and shared folders.

Spoiler
In general, your Dropbox quota is calculated based on the total amount of contents in your account, which includes shared folders. As such, a Dropbox account can't sync more than its quota, so a 2 GB account can't sync more than 2 GB. 
If you'd like to receive a folder without impacting your account’s storage, you can ask the sender to share a link to the folder, instead, which allows you to view/download the content.

Finally, if you’d to have a little more storage, you can earn space. For more info on this, check out this article.

I hope this helps to some extent!