cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Known issues updated. Learn more

March contest: Post your Paper workflow to win a Dropbox t-shirt and tote bag!

yes

Highlighted

Having a nightmare with shared folders, sync and deleted files reappearing

Level 5

I'm sharing a number of Dropbox folders on a network across a number of computers. A user logs on to a computer, a user profile is downloaded from the network to that computer (including our Dropbox folders) and that allows us to drop files in and share them.

The issue I'm experiencing is that when I delete files from within one of these shared folders (either through the Dropbox site or the folder on my computer), all of those files I've deleted will magically reappear at some point.

I believe (I'm no expert) that someone with access to a shared folder has a version of our shared folders on their computer with all of those deleted files, which I guess Dropbox is interpreting as more recent than my deletion which is why it's sticking them back in there when it synchronises.

Help! Is there anything I can do to work out which user/computer is causing the issue, and to stop this from happening?

Thanks!

8 Replies

Re: Having a nightmare with shared folders, sync and deleted files reappearing

Super User II

If a file or folder returns when you delete it, it's because it was unable to be deleted on one of your connected devices.