cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

yes

Highlighted

How can I ensure that all my files are still shared after I delete my account?

Level 2

If I delete my account how to I make sure that all my shared folders are still accessable by everyone else?

1 Reply

Re: Shared folders & ownership

Dropboxer

Hey there @Beckyeva - how are you today?

I assume you're the owner of the said shared folders and you're wondering what will happen to the files within those folders if you delete your account - correct me if I got anything wrong please.

Just to be on the safe side, I'd suggest that you transferred the aforementioned shared folders' ownership to another member. For more information on transferring ownership of a shared folder, please see: 

https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/change-shared-folder-owner

You can then remove access to a shared folder by following the steps on this Help Center article: https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/leave-shared-folder 

Now, if you'd really like to cancel and delete your account, please go to the following website:  https://www.dropbox.com/account/delete

Keep in mind that once you've canceled your account, there is no way for you or Dropbox to recover that account. Please make sure any files you want to keep from Dropbox are saved to your computer before you cancel your account. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any questions!

 


Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Sharing and Collaboration

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

How can I ensure that all my files are still shared after I delete my account?
300 Views
1 Reply
1 Like
Solved! : See solution
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post