If I search in the forum or on google for "how to resend a dropbox invitation to a shared folder" I find an answer for business accounts, but I just have a normal individual pro account. I shared a folder with about 10 people months ago. 4 joined, and 6 didn't. How do I resend the invite to the 6 people so that I am sure they have a recent invite in their email inbox?
You can't? This is horrible. Really, really bad. I create a shared folder. I create a list of invitees. I send them the link. Then, I update the folder. I can see all my invitees listed. BUT~ You are telling me I cannot resend the invite? Why on earth is this kind of dysfunction programmed into an app I pay $200./US yearly for? It should be stupid simple to program this. Please, Db. do it!
I have exactly the same difficulty
Are we the only two people in the whole world using dropbox to share files?.
Maybe everyone tries it once and then just gives up......
I do wonder nowadays if no one has the patience or tenacity to complain about anything.
I had the same issue. I deleted the address that haven't received and I added again and share it again. It seems it is OK now. In the meantime you can make a link and send the link by email. they can access and download the files via the link.
I agree. It's a basic use case. You can send them the link the first time. There's all this flexibility for each person to rename shared folders (and that's great!). So one doesn't necessarily know what link to send them, something like dropbox.com/home/new-name-or-orginal-or-what-was-it?. Meanwhile on their side, they might barely use it and don't remember where that thing you shared with them 6 months ago is.
That's why there's the Sharing page, so you can see and access everything that has been shared with you.
Also, inviatations don't work like they did previously. Before, when you invited someone to a shared folder, they had to accept the invitation before they were a member. Now, as soon as you invite someone they have access. They can add and remove the folder from their Dropbox at will, without ever changing their membership status within the share. Because of this, there's no reason to re-invite someone that's already a member. They already have access. Only when they leave the share, removing their access completely, would you be able to re-invite someone.
Thanks for responding. The share page helps. However, it doesn't provide the kind of direct access one ideally wants for less techy people one is sharing with. They still have to dig through many shares and remember what it's called. But I will use that shares page link from now on. Thanks.
If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!