cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hyperlink not working in Excel

Hyperlink not working in Excel

StefC
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I am new to file sharing on Dropbox and am looking to use Dropbox to house an excel spreadsheet which has hyperlinks to pdf's.  I emailed the spreadsheet as an attachment to my colleague direct from excel and when they opened the spreadsheet and clicked on the hyperlink for the PDF they got an error message stating the PDF's were not available or something along those lines. Note, when I click on the hyperlinks from my computer, they go right to the PDF's with no issue, but I am assuming that's due to the fact that I am working on the PC that has Dropbox downloaded and it's pulling from those files. 

In doing some research, I think what I need to do is move all the data (pdf's and spreadsheet) in a folder that I share with my colleague, so when he opens it he is able to click through to the PDF's. Is that accurate?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hey there @StefC - how are you today?

Let me shed some light into this so you can have a clear view of why it's happening and you can decide if you'd like to share a folder with those PDFs with your colleague after all. Read on for more context: 

In Microsoft Excel, you can create links in a workbook to another workbook or file on your computer using a formula that references an external location. When this link is created, it points to a location on your own hard drive.