cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

default

yes

147 Views
1 Comment
1 Like
Highlighted
Level 2

Shared folders & ownership

If I delete my account how to I make sure that all my shared folders are still accessable by everyone else?

1 Accepted best answer

Accepted Solutions
Dropboxer

Re: Shared folders & ownership

Hey there @Beckyeva - how are you today?

I assume you're the owner of the said shared folders and you're wondering what will happen to the files within those folders if you delete your account - correct me if I got anything wrong please.

Just to be on the safe side, I'd suggest that you transferred the aforementioned shared folders' ownership to another member. For more information on transferring ownership of a shared folder, please see: 

https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/change-shared-folder-owner

You can then remove access to a shared folder by following the steps on this Help Center article: https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/leave-shared-folder 

Now, if you'd really like to cancel and delete your account, please go to the following website:  https://www.dropbox.com/account/delete

Keep in mind that once you've canceled your account, there is no way for you or Dropbox to recover that account. Please make sure any files you want to keep from Dropbox are saved to your computer before you cancel your account. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any questions!




Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
1 Reply
Dropboxer

Re: Shared folders & ownership

Hey there @Beckyeva - how are you today?

I assume you're the owner of the said shared folders and you're wondering what will happen to the files within those folders if you delete your account - correct me if I got anything wrong please.

Just to be on the safe side, I'd suggest that you transferred the aforementioned shared folders' ownership to another member. For more information on transferring ownership of a shared folder, please see: 

https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/change-shared-folder-owner

You can then remove access to a shared folder by following the steps on this Help Center article: https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/leave-shared-folder 

Now, if you'd really like to cancel and delete your account, please go to the following website:  https://www.dropbox.com/account/delete

Keep in mind that once you've canceled your account, there is no way for you or Dropbox to recover that account. Please make sure any files you want to keep from Dropbox are saved to your computer before you cancel your account. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any questions!




Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Sharing and Collaboration

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help you find an answer!
You won’t have to wait too long for a reply, but why not learn more about the Community while you’re here.

Not the right discussion for you? Find out what else our Community has to say about Sharing and collaboration.

Or, search our Help Center for even more.

Who's talking
Top contributors to this post