cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to attach as a file

Unable to attach as a file

BusyNurse
New member | Level 2
Go to solution
I have been using Dropbox for several years now and up until last week I had 2 options when trying to send my files via email: attach as a file or upload a link. I no longer have the “attach a file” option. The people I work with do not use Dropbox and have no interest in the added steps to access the files I send. Please help me restore my ability to attach the file to my emails
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution
I've just tested the issue you've described and this seems to be an issue with Outlook, not Dropbox, as Dropbox doesn't control that process. Microsoft created the process of attaching files from within Outlook. They simply use the Dropbox API to do it. In fact, Dropbox doesn't even need to be installed on the device.

You'll need to reach out to Microsoft for assistance with this.

View solution in original post

41 Replies 41

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution
What platform are you doing this on; computer, mobile, etc.? Please list the exact steps you're taking.

BusyNurse
New member | Level 2
Go to solution
I am using a mobile platform using all the same steps I have used forever.
I open my outlook, click to add an attachment, select the folder and then the file I am looking for...
The options have always been “attach as a file” or “attach a link”.
Now the only option is to attach a link

PDH
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution