cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Deleted folders keep reappearing

Deleted folders keep reappearing

Adam L.4
New member | Level 1
Go to solution

I'm hoping someone can help with this problem. I have been using Dropbox for a few years across a number of devices (2 desktop Macs, a laptop, an iPhone and an iPad). This last week, when I try to delete a folder it reappears a moment later. If I move it into another folder, the same thing happens. I have checked and all my other devices are switched off or not trying to sync while I am doing this. Any advice on how to stop it?

Thanks!

83 Replies 83

davidmatos
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution

I was having a related issue with a file (not folder) on my iPhone: even after permanent deletion on the website, the file kept showing on the phone's 'Recents' and any attempt to delete it generated a 'Deletion Failed' message. @travel r. suggestion did the trick: uploading a new file with the exact same name of the problematic one forced a clean sync and solved the issue.

G C.4
New member | Level 1
Go to solution

I had this problem, tried a couple of the suggestions near the top of this list to no avail (but did clear out a lot of devices and apps that didn't need to be linked anymore via the website). I then thought I would try deleting the problematic folder from the website itself and bango...all gone. Noticed that a bit futher down this list Coe I. mentioned this working for him as well.

Moris C.
New member | Level 1
Go to solution