cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Did you know you can get an answer in less than 2 hours? Try asking a question now!
4 Comments
3 Likes
Highlighted
Level 2

Folders not syncing between computer and dropbox online

I work on files from 3 different computers.  Each computer has the Dropbox App installed and all files are listed within the dropbox app.  I keep my files in various folders and subfolders.  I have been using dropbox for several years and have never had a problem.  No matter which computer I have used in the past, those files automatically sync online and therefore sync with the other devices.  Yesterday I worked on a file and renamed a few folders on one of my laptops.  I could not get the changes to sync online.  Therefore, the other two computers were not synced.  I exited the dropbox program and reloaded it.  I shut down and restarted the computer.  I even reinstalled the dropbox app.  Nothing worked.  Help!  I chose to pay for Dropbox rather than use a free online storage because I trusted Dropbox more.  Now I am concerned that it isn't as reliable.

4 Replies
Super User

Re: Folders not syncing between computer and dropbox online

Hello 

Sorry, you are having issues and this may seem a little tough one to find a solution.   First off,  what is the OS of the laptop that is not syncing?  When you hover over your Dropbox icon with your mouse slowly, there's a yellow notification of the status.  what does it say?  You can click on it and it will also show it in the opened window.

There could be a connection problem, do you run a proxy for internet? Check your internet connection

Here are a few articles to ponder over

https://www.dropbox.com/help/syncing-uploads/stuck-syncing

looking forward to your reply.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------