cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Calling all Android users to try our new feature - Join now!

Problems Relocating Dropbox Folder to New Drive Using DB Application

SOLVED
6 Comments
3 Kudos
Highlighted
Level 2
a month ago

Problems Relocating Dropbox Folder to New Drive Using DB Application

My dropbox folder on one of my computers (PC) is on a portable harddrive (it has to be, for security purposes), and it's running out of space.  I've been using DB for 5+ years and relocated the dropbox folder many times without issue.  This is the first time it's been unsuccessive.

Note, I've been trying relocate my dropbox folder using the application process (Tools>Preferences>Account>Location>Move), however, it starts the move process, get to about 7% and then quits.  I've done this four times and on one occassion, I got an error message that was briefly visible  before the application quit, about a file name problem, so I went into the application and under selective syncing, removed that entire folder from my local dropbox location.  

This did not fix the problem.  I don't know how long the move process made this time before it quit, but in looking at the files copied over on the new target drive, I'd say about 6-8%.  I have approximately 500k files on DB that need to get properly moved over.

Is there a way I can do this without the move process?  Do I have to unlink the account (and will that result in a file loss) and then relink it?  What happens if I unlink the account and the relocation doesn't work?

Thank you for your assistance.

1 Accepted solution

Accepted Solutions
Super User
a month ago

Re: Problems Relocating Dropbox Folder to New Drive Using DB Application

The fact that you're using an external drive might be part of the issue. They've never been recommended for Dropbox and typically cause more problems than they're worth.