Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

yes

Highlighted

enabling smart sync broke my ability to eject external hardrives and freezes my finder on mac

Helpful | Level 5

when I enabled smaret sync it seames to have broke my ability to eject external hardrives and freezes my finder on mac EVERYTIME I try

I use and external SSD to sync as my dropbox account so when I am done working I eject the hardrvie and shut down. And then plug it back in and trurn on the next day. I ahve doen this for years and had zero issues. I am a team admin for a accoutn that is abotu 700Gb of space, most use laptops with 500 Gb ssd so they cant sync locally without an external HD. I figuerd we could do smart sync and only save locally active client work and make our archive online only.  I was the test subject to impliment this and ever since I enabled smart sync. If I try to exect my hardrive it wont and it freezes my finder. Creating the need for a hard restart. This si rediculous

I have turned off "finder intergration" in hopes this would help...it did not.. and truthfully I use right click copy link ALL day long. this wouldnt be an option anyway. 

I ccant seem to "Turn off" or Remove smart sync all together. to test that the behavior is back to normal. 

Smart Sync just screwed me. how Do I get my life back. 

3 Replies

Re: enabling smart sync broke my ability to eject external hardrives and freezes my finder on mac

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Hi there, generally, we don’t recommend having the Dropbox folder on an external drive, since it can lead to performance issues, unexpected behavior, and potential data loss.

Using Smart Sync on an external drive, one that you also frequently disconnect (though you haven’t mentioned if the Dropbox desktop application is still running when you do this) is probably one of these unknown behaviors, regardless if it worked in the past.