cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Downloading Large Files

Downloading Large Files

RicardoMorricone
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution

I'm a movie composer working remotely in a studio with 4G hotspot internet that has the occasional hiccup ... whilst spending the past few weeks in contact with the editor who has a full DP account and lays up 5 - 30 gig movie files on his account for me to download  ... I have a free account as don't usually use DP (My experience here reminds me WHY I don't have DP!) ... files fail around 80% with "network error".  So this occasionally does work (but 20% is not good). Boy it's wasting my time as I'm working with 15 meg download speed which takes some time watching to see if a file is successful.

Sometimes the file fails after a couple of gig and often when it's supposedly fully formed. (as far as one can see) Shouldn't there be a way to resume a failure?

I'm using a MacBook Pro to download movie files ... I've tried Chrome / Safari / Firefox ... also tried as suggested Incognito and of course my download managers won't work with DP because it's perfect and should resume any breaks in download itself ... irritatingly like many whose comments I've read ...  watching the file download, it might get to 28.8 gig of a 28.8 gig download ... then says "network error"