cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enable iOS Markup toolset capability from a PDF loaded from Dropbox

Enable iOS Markup toolset capability from a PDF loaded from Dropbox

Mike P.58
Explorer | Level 4
I’m a mature student who’s gone back to school to advance my career capacity. I’ve meticulously set up Dropbox folder structures to sort and hold my course information assets such as PDFs. While in class the other day on my iPad Pro, I went to pull up a PDF in Dropbox, to annotate. I noticed my options were to use the inline set of Dropbox annotation and related tools, or send it to Adobe Acrobat app where I could use the Adobe tools. I really like the “Markup” toolset/baked-in experience within iOS and MacOS (via Preview App). However, in order for any third-party iOS app or Files app on iCloud Drive to modify the PDF (duplicate, copy, or add inline annotations) I have to move the PDF out of Dropbox, to iCloud Drive on my iPad Pro. Then, I can use the third-party apps or iOS Markup toolset to annotate the PDF. 

I’d like to retain use of Dropbox for my university education practices but with the need to engage PDFs to annotate with the dynamic set of tools from iOS Markup toolset (I’m into research coding and indexing using my Apple Pencil), I’m left with the decision of potentially moving my entire education file set over to iCloud Drive. 

Is there any way around this? Is Dropbox app for iOS planning to permit PDF file editing via iOS’s Markup feature set at some point in the future? 

Thanks!
11 Replies 11

Nancy
Dropbox Staff