cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Files and folders disappeared

Files and folders disappeared

nmbereny
New member | Level 2

Hello,

I don't use use dropbox very often, but I have been using it since at least 2003.  When I logged in today, I found almost all of my files and folders missing and only a few from 2019 still there. 

Like I said, I don't use it often, but I was always happy that they were there - eg. letters from my late husband etc.   So not finding them there is very upsetting to me. And I only use the web version of the software.

I found an old link of when I had shared a folder to someone, and I was able to navigate to it, and then save it to a folder.

So it appears the files may still be there (whew!) but it is not displaying to me in my account.

Now they are all gone, and I don't know when Dropbox decided to just delete all my content.  I am on the free 2GB version and didn't plan to upgrade so are they just deleting all my files?

How do I get them back?

5 Replies 5

Mark
Super User II

Hi @nmbereny 

Dropbox cannot delete things - it has no capability to do so without being told to do so by somebody. 

What does www.dropbox.com/events show about the files? Note that if they were deleted over 30 days ago they are not recoverable. If you found things via a link then they are NOT in your Dropbox but somebody elses and so you need to get the other links to find the rest

:penguin::penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin:

Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below.