cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Discuss Dropbox Developer & API

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Permanant Access token for drop box

Need Permanant Access token for drop box

nitish166
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution

Hi All,

Good day...!!!

I'm Nitish Kumar from India. I'm a software engineer. Currently, I'm working on one of the projects using node js where I'm using dropbox API with the access token.  everything was working fine but after a while, the access token is getting expired. I need a way to get the permanent access token so, I do not require manual intervention every time.

nitish166_0-1647433298873.png

So, the team can you please help me with the same?  thank you!

Thanks and regards,

Nitish Kumar

<contact information redacted>

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Dropbox is in the process of switching to only issuing short-lived access tokens (and optional refresh tokens) instead of long-lived access tokens. You can find more information on this migration here.

Apps can still get long-term access by requesting "offline" access though, in which case the app receives a "refresh token" that can be used to retrieve new short-lived access tokens as needed, without further manual user intervention. You can find more information in the OAuth Guide and authorization documentation. You can find an example of using refresh tokens with the JavaScript SDK here.