Plans and Subscriptions
Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.
I was added to a Team folder (“Wedding Ideas Photos”) by a client back in 2016, and I’m very confused about what will happen if I leave the team.
I had asked Support about this awhile ago, but it felt too risky to leave the team since I didn’t have a clearcut answer. I’m really hoping for an answer I can feel confident in because I don’t want to risk losing files!
I had an account prior to being added to the team. I also pay for a Plus plan, and have been using this account to share files with my other design clients.
What makes me confused is that when I’m viewing all my folders, it has the team name across the top even though those folders aren't within the team folder.
If I leave the team, will that only remove me from the team folder and remove the team name from the top of my file/folder menu?
Or will it affect the folders I’ve created and shared with my profile, or folders that have been shared with me by others outside the team?
Will it kick me back to a personal plan even though I’m paying for an upgraded plan?
Thank you! That helped give me a bit more clarity and ease my mind about leaving the team.
"As a member, you can choose to leave a free team. If you leave, you lose access to shared folders and groups. If you’ve linked a personal account to a free team account, your files and folders will be moved to your personal account."
Files and folders I've created after joining the team (that were not in the team folder) will be moved to my personal account, correct?
Also, when viewing the team folder info, I was wondering about the space used portion. You can see that the Team folder was created but never really used because there are no files in it. I'm assuming the "49.5 GB by you" is content that's not related to the Team folder and what will be moved to my personal account?
Sure! I found that by clicking on my account icon and then clicking on "View team and groups". It shows that information at the top of the page with team members below (this is the only team I'm a member of).
Sure! This is what I see under the Account tab:
And when I'm on my home screen, it shows folders divided up by "suggested by your activity," recent, and starred. Here's what one of the folders under the suggested section looks like – it has the folder name and then the folder it's apparently nested in.
This folder isn't uploaded in the Team folder, but I'm confused because it looks like it's nested in a "Wedding Ideas Photos" folder. Is this simply because I'm a part of that team? I'm assuming so because even folders that have been shared with me by other clients show up like this.
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.Sound good? Let's get started.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!