cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
If you know more about files sizes, you can make more informed decisions about which files you upload and then you can maximize the space in your Dropbox Basic account?

Plans and Subscriptions

Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

LauraLOTC
Explorer | Level 4

I have a personal Dropbox account for my work as a journalist. My business partner created a new Business Account and invited me to join only to access certain files. When I went to accept the system asked to "merge" the accounts and not understanding what that meant, I clicked yes. Then Dropbox notified me that my personal account was closed and they were refunding me my fee. How do I extricate myself from this? I do not want to own the Business Account or have that for my own Dropbox, I only need access to it. How do I restore my Personal account and revive the subscription? The person who created the new business account says it was a mistake, but doesn't know how to fix it and one can't "call" Dropbox, nor is there a way to change accounts. Help!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

Rich
Super User II

@LauraLOTC wrote:

When I went to accept the system asked to "merge" the accounts and not understanding what that meant, I clicked yes. ... How do I extricate myself from this?


When you merged your account into the team account, you effectively made the team the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

 

After your account has been converted back to an individual account you'll be back on the Basic plan. You can then resubscribe to Plus, Professional, etc.

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Re: My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

Rich
Super User II

@LauraLOTC wrote:

When I went to accept the system asked to "merge" the accounts and not understanding what that meant, I clicked yes. ... How do I extricate myself from this?


When you merged your account into the team account, you effectively made the team the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

 

After your account has been converted back to an individual account you'll be back on the Basic plan. You can then resubscribe to Plus, Professional, etc.

Re: My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

LauraLOTC
Explorer | Level 4

Thanks so much for the info. We were able to get into the Admin portion and speak to a Dropbox team member who walked us through the steps to revert the account.

Re: My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

gryphonox
New member | Level 2

I have this same issue - in reverting to an individual account at the Basic Plan, will I lose content as the space required will need to be upgraded immediately?

Re: My personal account was accidentally merged into a Business Account

Megan
Dropboxer

Hi @gryphonox, I'd be happy to answer this for you! 

 

If you joined a Business team, and you want to revert back to an individual plan the best way to go on about it is to ask for the admin to convert your account, following these steps. 

 

Now onto your question: Please be aware that if your account is ever downgraded, Dropbox will not delete any of your files. 

 

If you are over quota all that should happen is that Dropbox will not sync any new files. 

 

Let me know in case you have any questions.


Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!

Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Megan Dropboxer
  • User avatar
    gryphonox New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    LauraLOTC Explorer | Level 4
  • User avatar
    Rich Super User II
What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?