cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We recently received a question asking for advice on how to set up a Dropbox account for an elderly family member. This prompted us to think about the different ways we can make Dropbox more accessible in general, learn about it and add your tips right over here.

Plans and Subscriptions

Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
1
Ask
2
Comments

What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Thrall
Explorer | Level 3

I know dropbox stops syncing after the 30 days trial ends, but what happens to the files I've uploaded during the trial? Can I still access them? And how long would they stay? (Sorry for my bad English)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @Thrall, thanks for joining the Community!

When you downgrade after a trial, all that will happen to your account is the files will stop syncing, if you're overquota when you downgrade.

You'll still be able to access your account, however, any new additions or edits won't sync to the account. The files will remain indefinitely on the account, as Dropbox doesn't delete any files without user input. I would recommend that you login to your account at least once within 12 months to keep the entire account active.

You can delete files from your account to get underquota again, which will allow it to sync once more.

If you need any more details, feel free to message back!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: What do you think about the Community? Fill out our survey here!

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Re: What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @Thrall, thanks for joining the Community!

When you downgrade after a trial, all that will happen to your account is the files will stop syncing, if you're overquota when you downgrade.

You'll still be able to access your account, however, any new additions or edits won't sync to the account. The files will remain indefinitely on the account, as Dropbox doesn't delete any files without user input. I would recommend that you login to your account at least once within 12 months to keep the entire account active.

You can delete files from your account to get underquota again, which will allow it to sync once more.

If you need any more details, feel free to message back!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: What do you think about the Community? Fill out our survey here!

Will my files be deleted after my 30 days free trial ends?

Adelaide22
New member | Level 2

Hi there, I've used Dropbox for a week and am wondering if my files will be deleted and I won't be able to access as well as download my files after my 30 days free trial ends. 

Will I receive an email or a notification about that? 

Just want to make sure to recover my all files if that happens. 

Thank you!

Re: Will my files be deleted after my 30 days free trial ends?

Mark
Super User II

Unless you actively cancel the trial you will automatically be upgraded and charged. 

 

If you do cancel then the account will revert back to a free one and you'll possibly be over quota. Syncing will stop but data safe. However, note that T&Cs do state they can delete data if needed to reduce your quota


 


:penguin::penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin:


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 


:white_check_mark: Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.


:arrows_counterclockwise: Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible! 


 

account

IronBear21
Explorer | Level 3

when you get the free 14 day upgraded account what happens if you use the space but then dont pay to keep the upgrade what happens to all your files?

Re: account

Mark
Super User II

They stay in your account but you cannot add or edit them. Dropbox, currently, does not delete them however the T&C's do state they can do so if they wish. 


 


:penguin::penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin:


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 


:white_check_mark: Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.


:arrows_counterclockwise: Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible! 


 

Re: account

IronBear21
Explorer | Level 3
Thank you very much I appreciate it
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    IronBear21 Explorer | Level 3
  • User avatar
    Mark Super User II
  • User avatar
    Adelaide22 New member | Level 2
What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?