cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Trying to save files directly on Dropbox (not on hard drive), but they still save on Hard-Disk D

Trying to save files directly on Dropbox (not on hard drive), but they still save on Hard-Disk Drive

desmond_singh
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

Hi All,

Let me start by saying I'm brand new to dropbox, so I apologize if my concerns are low-level and I thank you for your patience in advanced.

Here are my details:

I'm a Bioinformatics student, and I've created a BASH script that:

1. unzips 22 large files (*.vcf.gz to *.vcf)
  2. assigns these unzipped files to a new subfolder within the original directory
  3. concatenates these 22 files into a single, large file

Each unzipped file (*.vcf) is ~ 22 GBs large, so they eat up the space on my hard-disk drive (HDD).

Accordingly, I've downloaded the dropbox application on my laptop and moved the project directory within the dropbox application

(ex. '/Users/myprofile/"Dropbox (Personal)"/project_directory').

When I run the BASH script that performs the above 3 steps, it doesn't run to completion because the unzipped files are saved to my HDD and it can't store 484+ GB of data. 

I'm wondering how I can make it such that when I run the BASH script, the 22 unzipped files and the large, concatenated file are automatically saved onto the dropbox application and NOT my HDD. 

I have 2 TB of dropbox space and I'm working on a MacBook Pro (13-inch, M1, 2020) running Big Sur v11.4 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II