cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restricting API Token to a given root folder

Restricting API Token to a given root folder

Cinelist
Explorer | Level 3

Hi everyone

I'm new to the Dropbox Developer community 🙂

Is it possible to limit an app token (generated with the OAuth2 flow) to a given folder in the corresponding Dropbox?

It seems to be possible with scopes, but I don't understand how to...

Thank you very much

Thomas

5 Replies 5

Здравко
Legendary | Level 20

@Cinelist wrote:

Is it possible to limit an app token (generated with the OAuth2 flow) to a given folder in the corresponding Dropbox?

Hi @Cinelist,

No, you cannot limit access to particular folder for token. You can set in your application some folder to be root (actually re-rooting), but this isn't a limitation. To limit access to a single folder you can use registered application with application' folder. Such a folder will be created automatically in the App folder and your application will be able access resources only residing there (as opposite to full access) if that's what you want.

@Cinelist wrote:

It seems to be possible with scopes, but I don't understand how to...

No, scopes are used to point out (and limit) what you are intend to do on accessible resources (not to limit the resources themself).

Cinelist
Explorer | Level 3

Thank you very much for your reply!