cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Upload PDF files/proper encoding

Upload PDF files/proper encoding

kaistullich
New member | Level 2

I have a simple Python Flask application that allows users to upload PDF files to a Dropbox account. I am able to successfully upload the file to Dropbox, as well as go directly go to dropbox.com and download the file. But when I try to open the file I just downloaded from dropbox.com directly it mentions that the file is corrupted/not correctly encoded.

I am new to file uploads in general, what is the best practice to encoding PDF files and storing them on Dropbox?

This is the code I use to upload the PDF files:

def upload_to_dbx(self):
        # read in the file as binary
        with open(os.path.join('uploaded_forms', self.uploaded_filename), 'rb') as f:
            read_file = f.read()

# path wher the uploaded file will be stored in Dropbox
        user_filepath_name = '/{fname} {lname}/{filename}'.format(fname=self.user.first_name,
                                                                  lname=self.user.last_name,
                                                                  filename=self.uploaded_filename
                                                                  )
        # upload the file with the specified file path
        try:
            self.dbx.files_upload(read_file, '{path}'.format(path=user_filepath_name))
            return self.uploaded_filename
        except dropbox.files.UploadError as e:
            return e 

4 Replies 4

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff