cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Uploading to *my* Dropbox with control over folder

Uploading to *my* Dropbox with control over folder

Ryan F.5
New member | Level 1

Hi,

I am a lecturer and I'm looking to create a coursework submission system for our students, many of whom create very large files (>5GB - they are film students). I've tried to link into Google Drive for this and have hit a roadblock in as much as their Picker (my preferred way of doing things - I want to remove the need to store uploaded files on my server when at all possible) will not allow for refreshed authorisation in the client library. So it will work for 1hour, then the auth token times out, and I am unable to get a new one without authenticating in the browser as me, which defeats the object.

So, here's what I want to do - can anyone give me some guidance on how best to implement? I've tried looking at Core API and got the basics of the theory under my belt, but the implementation is driving me crazy.

1. I create an App in Dropbox that points to my Dropbox account (probably in an App folder).
  2. I authenticate with the app in code so that I have an access token that I can store privately and use when creating API calls in my web app - meaning my students never see Dropbox logins at all when accessing my app - it "runs" as me, and uploads files they choose to *my Dropbox*