cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: [python and Dropbox API] New users cannot access files in my /app/ folder

[python and Dropbox API] New users cannot access files in my /app/ folder

mooreppj
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

Good morning,

I have been developing an app for my company that uses Dropbox to store some files that should be read/written to when the user uses the auto-py-to-exe .exe I've made that is locally installed on our user's computers.   This is my first time using Dropbox's API so the finer points may have been lost so please be patient!

What I'm trying to do:

When a user opens my .exe, an access token for that user is generated using the OAuth flow as I understand it:

• the .exe checks to see if an access token for a new user exists in the program's local cache on the user's PC.
  • If no access token is found, it asks the user to log into Dropbox through a web browser, accept access to the app (using the app's key), and get an authorization token.
  • The user then copys and pastes this authorization token into a text prompt the .exe provides. 
  • This authorization token is then exchanged with the app's secret key to obtain an access token for that user which is stored locally for future logins on the user's PC.
  • If this is successful, the user only has to do this one time and henceforth will go straight into the .exe without needing to do any more OAuth on their part.