cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload request for iOS mobile app

Upload request for iOS mobile app

sipius
Explorer | Level 3

Hello, this is my first time trying to upload a file to my companys dropbox account. 

The file is a 1 to 5 page pdf report that is generated.  I am able to generate, print and email report without a problem, but now would like to upload the report to dropbox also when it is emailed to keep as a record.

The report would go in different folders in dropbox that are already created based on project name.

I am getting the following erors on my upload request using objective c.......Please help.  Thank you!

NSData *fileData = [@"file data example" dataUsingEncoding:NSUTF8StringEncoding allowLossyConversation:NO];

****error#1: No visible @interface for 'NSString' declares the selector 'dataUsingEncoding:allowLossyConversation:’

DBFILESWriteMode *mode = [[DBFILESWriteMode allocinitWithOverwrite]; 

*****error#2:Initializer element is not a compile-time constant

[[client.filesRoutes uploadData:@"/test/path/in/Dropbox/account/yourPDF.pdf”

******error#3: Expected identifier or ‘(‘    —first bracket and client are underlined in red

4 Replies 4

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff

It looks like you're running in to a few different issues, some of which aren't about the Dropbox API/SDK in particular, but I'll offer what help I can. 

NSData *fileData = [@"file data example" dataUsingEncoding:NSUTF8StringEncoding allowLossyConversation:NO];

****error#1: No visible @interface for 'NSString' declares the selector 'dataUsingEncoding:allowLossyConversation:’