cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Deleted Shared Folder still showing in another users drive

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

I've come across the following scenario. 

User 1 shares a folder with user 2

User 2 moves this share folder in to a private folder.

 

User 1 deletes this folder from his dropbox. It appears to still retain the permissions and still available in user 2s dropbox.

It still shows as user 1 being the owner. in users 2s dropbox. I had not prompt to unshare it before deleting. Is this how it should be?

 

Thanks

1 Reply 1
Highlighted

Re: Deleted Shared Folder still showing in another users drive

Super User II
Super User II

Is this how it should be?

Yes, by deleting the folder without un-sharing it first, you basically removed yourself from it and left it available for everyone else. To remove a shared folder from other users you need to either kick them out of it or un-share it.

 

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?