cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Functionality in API - Remove Member

Highlighted

Functionality in API - Remove Member

Explorer | Level 3

Hi, I am removing a member and transferring files through admin from Dropbox through API ( working fine ). So when I do that manually (in the UI)i see an option "Do you want to delete content from this member's devices the next time they come online ?" and its a radio button option for Yes or No. What is this functionality does and how can I achieve through API ? Please help.WhatsApp Image 2020-05-05 at 6.00.09 PM.jpeg

 

3 Replies 3
Highlighted

Re: Functionality in API - Remove Member

Dropboxer

You can find more information on the process of and options for removing a member from a team on Dropbox in the help center here.

 

This functionality is available via the Dropbox Business API as the /2/team/members/remove endpoint. The options you pointed out are available on that endpoint via the 'transfer_dest_id'/'transfer_admin_id' and 'wipe_data' parameters. You can find more information about those parameters in the documentation.

 

By the way, that's a link to the documentation for the HTTPS endpoints themselves, but we recommend using one of the official SDKs if possible. Those have corresponding native methods for the HTTPS endpoints. 

Highlighted

Re: Functionality in API - Remove Member

Explorer | Level 3

Hi Greg,

 

The Only Option i wanted confirmation on Radio buttons Yes or No and the question above it. What doest that functionality mean actually?

Highlighted

Re: Functionality in API - Remove Member

Dropboxer
Do you want to transfer this member’s file content to another team member?

This option lets you copy all of the files and folders from the deleted member's account to another member's account. That way, your team can keep access to the files from the deleted account, if needed.

 

Do you want to delete content from this member’s devices the next time they come online?

This option lets you tell Dropbox to delete the local copies of the files and folders from the deleted member's account from their devices if/when they come online again. That way, you can try to avoid having the member retain copies of files and folders they should no longer have.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?