cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Share your feedback on the Document Scanning Experience in the Dropbox App right here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A file in my Dropbox folder can't be synced due to OneDrive, also can't be ignored. What can I do?

A file in my Dropbox folder can't be synced due to OneDrive, also can't be ignored. What can I do?

Nuno_Viegas
Helpful | Level 5

Hi guys.
I have been using Dropbox for many years but my company started using OneDrive.
But, I would like to keep all documents in Dropbox to keep everything centralized and just one app on the phone. I've tried to direct OneDrive to a folder inside Dropbox but it turns out that there is always a file that Dropbox can't sync because it's always in use by OneDrive so Dropbox can't sync it. The file starts with ".849..." and it is a system and hidden file.
If by chance I stop the OneDrive service the file is synchronized but when I start again with OneDrive it gives me an error and I no longer have synchronization with OneDrive. I have already tried to ignore the synchronization file but without success with the command "Set-Content -Path 'D:\NunoViegas\Dropbox\OneDrive\Werfen\HLIT PT - General\.849C9593-D756-4E56-8D6E-42412F2A707B' -Stream com. dropbox.ignored -Value 1". Is not marking to ignore it.
Is there a way to skip this file? Or hidden and/or system files?
Has anyone tried this?
Thanks a lot.
Best regards

5 Replies 5

Daphne
Dropbox Staff

Hi there @Nuno_Viegas, I hope you're doing well today!

Just so that I can have a bit more info on this, can you let me know which version of the desktop app you have installed?