cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joining a shared folder moved everything!

Joining a shared folder moved everything!

Rebecca T.13
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I was recently invited to join a client's dropbox folder, to have access to their files. In doing so - I clearly made a wrong selection as now MY entire dropbox is in THEIR dropbox. I'm trying to figure out the best way to remove everything! When I log in to my account, it takes me directly to theirs - i'm guessing I did something to add my account to their account, and in the process removed my own?! 

 

Help?!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@Rebecca T.13 wrote:

I was recently invited to join a client's dropbox folder... now MY entire dropbox is in THEIR dropbox.


You weren't invited to a shared folder. You were invited to and accepted an invitation to join their Business team account. When doing so, you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. If you had a paid subscription at the time, you would have received a prorated refund for the time remaining on your subscription.

 

In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account. Once your account has been converted you'll need to resubscribe if you were previously on a paid plan.

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@Rebecca T.13 wrote:

I was recently invited to join a client's dropbox folder... now MY entire dropbox is in THEIR dropbox.


You weren't invited to a shared folder. You were invited to and accepted an invitation to join their Business team account. When doing so, you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. If you had a paid subscription at the time, you would have received a prorated refund for the time remaining on your subscription.

 

In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account. Once your account has been converted you'll need to resubscribe if you were previously on a paid plan.

Rebecca T.13
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

Thank you! I'm sure that is absolutely what happened. Thanks so much for your quick reply.

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Rebecca T.13 New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    Rich Super User II
What do Dropbox user levels mean?