cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Reactivating Dropbox on a previous device ...

Reactivating Dropbox on a previous device ...

rlesperance
Helpful | Level 6

I have a MacBook Air M2 (MBA) running Ventura.  I previously installed Dropbox (DB) on that computer but had to stop syncing because I  wanted to run it on 3 other devices.

When using my MBA again, I launched DB.  I had to unselect one of my other DB devices. When DB began, I thought it was verifying my files to match them with the version since my last connection.  In fact, I later realized that it renamed my previous DB folder already in the ~Library/CloudStorage folder, created a new one and synced my files all over again.

When that came to a completion, I could see a DB alias folder in the root of my user folder pointing to the new DB folder location just beside my previous one.

I really don't understand why DB did not simply synced my previous DB folder with the cloud version instead of creating a new one all over again.  My only possible clue is that when the original DB folder was created and updated to work with OS 12.5 and earlier, I trashed the alias folder that DB created in the root of my user folder, folder that has been created again with this new installation.

What am I missing or what have I done wrong ?

5 Replies 5

Jay
Dropbox Staff

Hi @rlesperance, thanks for bringing this to our attention.