cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Really Understanding Dropbox Backup

Really Understanding Dropbox Backup

Stephen S.32
Helpful | Level 6
Go to solution

I am a scientist that has used Dropbox (DB) for about 12 years.  I have a 2TB family plan and only have used 15% of it.  My OS is Mac Sierra (10.12.6) with 32GB of RAM.  I use the Finder a lot more than most Mac Users. My DB files are in a subfolder of my user (home) folder.  Here are my 2 questions: 

1. In the past I was told that only the desktop and files in documents can be backed up with DB backup. Is this still true or can my hard drive folders and files in my User (Home) folder be backup up with the new DB upgrades?

2. Given my work and the long time I have used DB, I have 250 GB within the DB main folder (with many subfolders and files. Will the backup, after it initially syncs, slow my computer's operations by eating up a lot of User memory, or is this an incremental backup that rapidly updates those new folders and files (the way SuperDuper does and also Time Machine).  I cannot afford to have a slow computer due to RAM consumption. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jay
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @Stephen S.32, thanks for contacting us.

The computer backup feature only works with certain system folders on your machine, namely the Desktop, Documents and Downloads folder.