cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

API is only available for a short time

API is only available for a short time

vuloan9407
New member | Level 2

My software is running using dropbox API to update data to web. I have been using it since 2019 but until the last few days it is no longer updated continuously, only updating a few hours. How do I extend my API usage time?

2 Replies 2

Rich
Super User II

@vuloan9407 wrote:

My software is running using dropbox API to update data to web. I have been using it since 2019 but until the last few days it is no longer updated continuously, only updating a few hours. How do I extend my API usage time?

Have you updated the app to use short-lived access/refresh tokens? Dropbox ended support for long-lived tokens. Tokens now expire after 4 hours.

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff

@vuloan9407 As Rich noted, it sounds like this is because Dropbox now returns short-lived access tokens, which are only valid for several hours.

Dropbox is in the process of switching to only issuing short-lived access tokens (and optional refresh tokens) instead of long-lived access tokens. You can find more information on this migration here.

Apps can still get long-term access by requesting "offline" access though, in which case the app receives a "refresh token" that can be used to retrieve new short-lived access tokens as needed, without further manual user intervention. You can find more information in the OAuth Guide and authorization documentation.