cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you an educator? Well we want to hear from you, so check out some tools we think might help you out here!

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm cancelling my Dropbox Pro subscription

I'm cancelling my Dropbox Pro subscription

Sean G.1
New member | Level 1

Today, I am cancelling my Dropbox Pro subscription.  I have been a Pro subscriber for over 2 years now.

Back in the early 2010s, Dropbox was an obvious choice; services like Google Drive, Box, Copy, OneDrive, and Amazon Glacier didn't exist.  When you wanted to sync a file across the cloud, you really had one choice: Dropbox.

Now, all of this has changed.  Dropbox is now one of the most expensive cloud storage providers, and only controls 27% of the market.  It seems almost stupid to continue using Dropbox, with providers like Google Photos and iCloud offering unlimited photo cloud storage.

Dropbox costs more for me than my annual hosting fees, put together.

When I first started using Dropbox, it was great; I was awarded with a free month of paid services.  I got way more than just the free month, too: I helped in pioneering the technology, and provided over 15 referrals to the service in its early days.  I was even awarded a free year's of Pro subscription + 1TB of storage for a year as a sufferer of the selective sync issue.

When I look back, Dropbox got me hooked like this.  As I continued to use the service, the amount of files I had stored in the cloud increased and increased, until I had well over the standard 1TB.