cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archiving files in Dropbox

Archiving files in Dropbox

parishclerk
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

Hi I am trying to figure out how to archive Dropbox files and I am reading conflicting information. Some posts say you can archive files in dropbox and other posts say not. Anyone know the answer?

I've read the Dropbox help and that isn't massively clear tbh 😞

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Zav
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi, I'm Zachary. I'm an engineer here at Dropbox.

That's right stevedropbox, Dropbox doesn't inherently support "archiving" files. On the other hand, you can definitely make your own "Archive" folder.

I'd love to hear about why you want to achive things, so we can learn about what features to build in the future. Do you want to free up space, reduce clutter to help find things, or something else?

If you're worried about space, you can use selective sync to avoid certain folders taking up space on your hard drive. Or, if you're a business user, you can use the much better Smart Sync feature, which gives many of the space-saving benefits of archiving without all the manual management.

If you're unable to find things, I'm curious what your experience with our search functioanlity has been--has it helped at all?

[This thread is now closed by moderators due to inactivity. If you're experiencing a similar behavior, feel free to start a new discussion in the Find Answers section here. ]

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution