cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Plans and Subscriptions

Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing billing country - what happens to shared folders?

Changing billing country - what happens to shared folders?

dakonium
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

I moved from Canada to the US and plan to change my billing country/currency. I read that I need to first cancel my current subscription and then subscribe in the new country. From what I read, this should not affect my dropbox folders and files.

I am curious if any sharing privileges will be affected by the switch. Many of my folders are shared with other people, and I don't want them to lose access. Could you please confirm.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution
Hi @dakonium; thanks for posting on our Community!

To get to the chase, your sharing privileges and files/folders won't be affected at all when your account gets downgraded. Only syncing of new files would stop (as you'd be over-quota) until you upgraded again using your new billing information. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any more questions.

Good luck on your new venture by the way!

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution
Hi @dakonium; thanks for posting on our Community!

To get to the chase, your sharing privileges and files/folders won't be affected at all when your account gets downgraded. Only syncing of new files would stop (as you'd be over-quota) until you upgraded again using your new billing information. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any more questions.

Good luck on your new venture by the way!

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join

dakonium
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

Thank you, that’s very helpful.

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution
Glad I could help @dakonium.

See you around the Community!

Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Walter Dropbox Staff
  • User avatar
    dakonium Explorer | Level 4
What do Dropbox user levels mean?