cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you new to Dropbox? Our Newcomers group is the perfect place to learn the basics, find out more here.

Security and Permissions

Start a discussion in the Dropbox Community forum to get help with your account security and permissions. Find support from Community members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accidentally merged into Business team

Accidentally merged into Business team

Kathy14
New member | Level 2

Hello,

 

Earlier today we received a pop-up, with the option to add another Shared Folder to our Dropbox. As we are a business in project management, we have many shared folders with our partners and accepted this folder. The pop-up only came with one option and that was to combine.

 

However, this folder has combined our Dropbox with the other teams folder, and now our entire Dropbox folders (even folders we are a member of that are shared from other clients) is merged under theirs. It seems that they do not have access to our folder or our other shared folders. However, our Dropbox name has changed however to the name of the Shared Folder and it seems like we are under their account. 

 

Is there anyway to undo this combined sync, as we cannot have our business account merged to another. We just want to undo this action and restore our Dropbox to what it was prior to the invitation acceptance.

 

Thank you

1 Reply 1

Rich
Super User II

@Kathy14 wrote:

Earlier today we received a pop-up, with the option to add another Shared Folder to our Dropbox. ... The pop-up only came with one option and that was to combine.


It wasn't a shared folder. You received and accepted an invitation to join another person's Business team account. When doing so, you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. While the other members of the team may not have access to your files and other shared folders, the team admin does have the ability to sign in as any other account they control (including yours, now) and gain access to the files.

 

In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Rich Super User II
What do Dropbox user levels mean?