cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We just wanted to say thank you! Check out our customer appreciation video here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do Dropbox Transfer links stop working when you delete the original file?

Do Dropbox Transfer links stop working when you delete the original file?

tbeers
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I'm trying to clean up some files in my Dropbox. If I move a file that I have shared via a Dropbox Transfer link, does it break the link, making it no longer accessible via the Dropbox Transfer link I shared?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jay
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @tbeers, thanks for messaging the Community!

 

The Dropbox Transfer page is separate from your normal shared links and Dropbox files. 

 

Deleting or moving the original file won't affect the files in the transfer, as they are in their own separate system.

 

You can test this by creating a simple text file, creating a transfer, opening it in an incognito window and then deleting the original file. The transfer would still be active in the incognito window when you refresh it.

 

If you have any further queries, feel free to message back.


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Jay
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @tbeers, thanks for messaging the Community!

 

The Dropbox Transfer page is separate from your normal shared links and Dropbox files. 

 

Deleting or moving the original file won't affect the files in the transfer, as they are in their own separate system.

 

You can test this by creating a simple text file, creating a transfer, opening it in an incognito window and then deleting the original file. The transfer would still be active in the incognito window when you refresh it.

 

If you have any further queries, feel free to message back.


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

tbeers
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

This is great to hear! Thanks for the clarification.

Jay
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

No worries, enjoy your weekend!


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Jay Dropbox Staff
  • User avatar
    tbeers New member | Level 2
What do Dropbox user levels mean?