cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Discuss Dropbox Developer & API

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Checking in and out / pause sync on folder

Checking in and out / pause sync on folder

projectdeliverypartners
Explorer | Level 3

Hi All,

I'm new to app development and to this forum and I feel my question is so basic it must have been asked and solved before however, I cannot seem to find anything similar within the existing threads.

I'm a civil designer and run my projects in various folders live on dropbox, windows 10. This works extremely well for almost everything I do except for one program which utilises databases in it's back end. I suspect some files are dependant on others and the like, changes in the model are updated in strings which may (I suspect) not be big enough for DB to notice the difference in size and therefore mark to upload. Believe me, I’ve tried and working with this program in a live dropbox folder is not a good idea. Best way for me to get around that currently is to pause syncing, do what I need, save and close the program then turn syncing back on. This generally works however, still seems to have some issues.

I would like to develop an app where I can select a folder to 'check out', do any editing I need, save and close, then the entire contents of that folder is uploaded to dropbox again. It may be checked out or perhaps syncing paused on just that folder, I’m not sure how best to achieve it yet but that’s the idea.

Surely something like this already exists? Any help / point in the right direction would be much appreciated.

-Jake

4 Replies 4

Здравко
Legendary | Level 20

Hi @projectdeliverypartners,