cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Dropbox using over 4GB of RAM on my M1 Macbook Pro 13"

Dropbox using over 4GB of RAM on my M1 Macbook Pro 13"

freelancingjim
Helpful | Level 6

Dropbox is using over 4GB of RAM on my M1 Macbook Pro 13".

I realise that we are waiting for the native Apple Silicon version, but this is rediculous. I've been using dropbox for more than 10 years, and this is the first time I'm seriously considering to move on. I've seen people complaining about dropbox using 256mb of RAM, at this point that would make me extremely happy. OVER 4GB.....what????? 

Screenshot 2021-02-04 at 20.45.38.pngScreenshot 2021-02-04 at 20.54.20.pngScreenshot 2021-02-04 at 20.54.28.pngScreenshot 2021-02-04 at 20.54.34.png

23 Replies 23

junak
Explorer | Level 4

Any update on this? I got new MacBook Pro with the M1 Pro and I'm also seeing over 2/3 GB of RAM. It's literally the app that uses the most RAM on my laptop, even though it should to be a lightweight client that runs in the background. I'm baffled 😕

CarlenY
New member | Level 2

I have a M1 MacBook Air, my MacBook Pro is in the shop 😒, and have about 1.4GB of ram used at all times with not that many files in sync. 

It uses as much ram as various adobe programs. Seems high and I don't remember this on my Mac with an intel chip, though I don't have that computer to compare at the moment. 

MiMa
Explorer | Level 4

Hi community,