cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing the Dropbox client on Ubuntu, via Vast.AI.

Installing the Dropbox client on Ubuntu, via Vast.AI.

liok
Helpful | Level 6

Hi ! I'm a CG filmmaker trying to use Vast.AI (Ubuntu on demand virtual machines, with very powerful GPUs) to render commercial & personal short film. (instead of overpriced render farm services.)
It seems it can work like a charm, but I've been struggling for three days to install the Dropbox client/app.
I managed via line of code found on Dropbox website/install page for Linux (I never used a console in my life, as an artist.) but this install always says only Ext4 file system is supported. There's other ways to install Dropbox I guess, but I just can't do it, always some dependency issue ect..
I also tried to install Resilio synch as an alternative to Dropbox, but it also refuses to install no matter what.
If someone has some expertise on this matter, I would be willing to pay to make sure I can reproduce the method, and stop bleeding both time and sanity like this week, for something that I expected to take me around 27 seconds.
If some simple solution exists I would be extremely grateful, but I think it does not, so some screen-sharing via Discord or so might be in order, if someone is interested in this bounty haha.
I hope asking for help potentially paid/via discord isn't against the rule, let me know if I need to edit my post.

Thanks !

2 Replies 2

Jay
Dropbox Staff

Hi @liok, thanks for messaging the Community!