cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you new to Dropbox? Our Newcomers group is the perfect place to learn the basics, find out more here.

Apps and Installations

Have a question about a Dropbox app or installation? Reach out to the Dropbox Community and get solutions, help, and advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is everything saved to the cloud?

Is everything saved to the cloud?

VAPat
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

I'm just about ready to wipe my 11 year old CPU.  I've saved everthing to my Dropbox app and it appears everything (folders & files) I've spot checked are available when I log into my Dropbox Account on Chrome.  Is everything in fact saved outside of my physical computer?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hannah
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hey @VAPat, thanks for posting your question to our Community!

 

If your files exist both in your local Dropbox folder and our website, it means they are both saved locally and to the cloud.

 

Through the Dropbox app, the local and the online version of your files are synced.

 

So, if you're going to wipe this computer, I would suggest you unlink it from your account first.

 

To unlink, just sign out of the Dropbox app or delete the computer in question from the security page in your account settings.

 

Let me know if you have any questions.


Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Hannah
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hey @VAPat, thanks for posting your question to our Community!

 

If your files exist both in your local Dropbox folder and our website, it means they are both saved locally and to the cloud.

 

Through the Dropbox app, the local and the online version of your files are synced.

 

So, if you're going to wipe this computer, I would suggest you unlink it from your account first.

 

To unlink, just sign out of the Dropbox app or delete the computer in question from the security page in your account settings.

 

Let me know if you have any questions.


Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

VAPat
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution
Thank you!
Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    VAPat Explorer | Level 4
  • User avatar
    Hannah Dropbox Staff
What do Dropbox user levels mean?