If I delete a file in dropbox does it delete it from my desktop?
Dropbox is a file sync solution. If you delete a file within the local Dropbox folder, it will be deleted from your account online and from the Dropbox folder on any other devices you're syncing. If you've enabled the computer backup feature, then you moved your Desktop, Documents and Downloads folder into the Dropbox folder. In such a case, files deleted from the Desktop folder within Dropbox would be deleted from your actual Desktop.