Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Updating Dropbox Programme (Windows 10)

Explorer | Level 3

I'm running Dropbox 69.4.102 on W10 (latest). The popup Dropbox from the Taskbar has had the message "You're using an old version of Dropbox. Please update within the next 15 days to continue using Dropbox". It's been like this for several days (but of course the number of days has been counting down).

I’ve been using Dropbox for several years with no problems and updating on a regular basis.

After I download the Update Dropbox installer file I've tried to run this in a number of ways including running as Administrator, exiting Dropbox but am unable to (apparently) update Dropbox. I'm unable to determine what Dropbox Process I should see running in Task Manager for an update. There're no error messages of any sort either.

What am I doing wrong? Where can I find useful Dropbox help? If I uninstall Dropbox will I lose my (rather complicated) setup array of folders spread across my hard drives? Will I effectively have to remove all my cloud folders and files and start again. I've over 40,000 photos and videos alone that when I set up years ago it took days to settle down!

Life (for me) is too busy at the moment to spend hours potentially having to undertake experimenting and rebuilding!

Thanks in anticipation that someone can give me an easy route to sort it all out!

Tags (1)
7 Replies

Re: Updating Dropbox Programme (Windows 10)

Super User II

Can you try downloading the full offline version of Dropbox from https://www.dropboxforum.com/t5/Desktop-client-builds/Stable-Build-77-4-131/td-p/355557 please?

PenguinPenguin - Penguin - Penguin - Penguin

Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 

White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.