cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox using high amount of RAM / memory

Dropbox using high amount of RAM / memory

gumdrops
Helpful | Level 6

This is an issue for Dropbox running macOS Mojave 10.14.6. I've been using Dropbox for many years but as a really light user. I probably have around 200 data files, sizes ranging from a few bytes to a few hundred kilobytes. And the total is about 60 MB. I use Drop only for four apps; one which I never use, two others rarely, and one once a day. Most of the files are rarely used. So changes happen only to a few tiny-sized files. 

My usage on my MacBook has increased, so I started to use Activity Monitor to see which apps require culling to free up RAM. I'm really surprised that Dropbox often appears at the top five or four culprits. It takes up over 400 MB, which is insane as it is way larger than my other productivity apps which are constantly in use. Even if there are no active syncs, it still hogs RAM. 

I read the link posted by a moderator for similar threads in the past: possible symptoms of the excessive RAM amounts in this article

however, it mostly emphasises high CPU usage, and only a short paragraph on why one should have high RAM consumption. I don't have any issues with high CPU usage for Dropbox; monitoring it shows it hovers around the 0.2% of CPU usage. I don't think I have that many files. So that link is unhelpful for me. 

My Google Backup and Sync, and Onedrive consumes a lot less RAM, and I'm using them more frequently.