cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Share your feedback on the Document Scanning Experience in the Dropbox App right here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm not the owner of a shared folder - Can I delete photos from the folder?

I'm not the owner of a shared folder - Can I delete photos from the folder?

valhalla
New member | Level 2

I want to delete some photos from a shared folder that the owner uploaded - but I don't want the owner to keep seeing the photos. If I delete them, will they still be available for viewing for the owner?

5 Replies 5

Jay
Dropbox Staff
Hi there, if you delete the photos, they’ll be deleted for all members of the shared folder.
 
 
Hope this info helps!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

valhalla
New member | Level 2

Hi,

Thanks for the info. However the second link you shared states that 'Only the owner of a shared folder, or the person who originally uploaded a file that nobody else has edited, can permanently delete a file' so I guess this means that files will only be deleted for me, and not for the owner.

Jay
Dropbox Staff
That’s correct, I wasn’t sure if you uploaded any images into the folder yourself, but I thought I’d mention it just in case!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

valhalla
New member | Level 2

I had and already deleted those - was only checking on ones I didn't upload. Sorry for not being clear on that!

 

Chris_J
Super User

Hello Valhalla

I afraid, that is not possible as you have equal rights to the folder.  So Dropbox will sync any changes to the owner.  However, if you want to 'leave' the folder, you can and when you do, it will not delete the folder or the contents of the folder.   This may not be what you want but its an option

https://www.dropbox.com/help/files-folders/leave-shared-folder

Hopes this helps


-------------------------


if this works and it was a solution, please click on Accept as Solution.  Also clicking on Likes would be super.  Thanks!

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Chris_J Super User
  • User avatar
    valhalla New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    Jay Dropbox Staff
What do Dropbox user levels mean?